The traditional toast - APC sponsors, partners and gurus raise their glasses to another fruitful learning experience at the Asian Publishing Convention.

Now in its 5th year, the Asian Publishing Convention attracted 248 high-level delegates from seventeen countries for this two-day event in the Landmark Hotel in Bangkok.

Mobile, social media and tablets featured heavily in the programme and the 50 experts shared their experiences and knowledge with the delegates. However, a poll of the audience at one of the Plenary Sessions after a platform debate, resoundingly resulted in a verdict that the digital media will not end the important role of the printed word.

Swiss Post was once again the main sponsor with Synovate, Atex and Smart Papers chipping in to support this important event.

Dr. Thanachai Theerapatvong (2nd from right) received a Lifetime Achievement Award for his outstanding contribution in building a publishing conglomerate with print newspaper in English and Thai, magazines, Radio and TV station. Others in the photo are, from left: Cyril Pereira, co-chair of Asian Publishing Convention; Rorey Rogers, CEO of Atex Asia & Asian Publishing Awards sponsor; Ashok Nath, co-chair of Asian Publishing Convention.
All seats taken at the plenary session on the first day of APC 2011 in Bangkok.
Carsten Vossmeyer, Head of Industry Press / Publisher of Swiss Post International presents “Extend Content & Brand Value: Leverage Content Personalization & Digital Printing”.
All smiles - 26 winners and excellence awardees fill the stage at the Asian Publishing Convention 2011 in Bangkok.

The Convention ended with a Gala Dinner and the presentation of the Asian Publishing Awards.

The award winners and excellence awardees in their respective categories are:


Category: Multimedia Consumer Research

Excellence Award: Alphabet Media Pte. Ltd., “FutureGov Research” (Singapore)


Category: Advertising Delivery

Winner: Alphabet Media Pte. Ltd., “Channel Sponsorship” (Singapore)

Excellence Award: Singapore Press Holdings, “Singapore Blog Awards 2010” (Singapore)


Category: Innovative Business Models

Winner: Commonwealth Publishing Group, “An In-depth Guide to Shanghai World Expo” (Taiwan)

Excellence Award: Hinge Inquirer Publications, “Targeted Multimedia Platform (TMP)” (Philippines)


Category: Effective Digital Publishing

Winner: Adobo Magazine, “Adobo Magazine “Adobo Digital” (Philippines)

Excellence Award: CommonWealth Magazine Group “Do Active Green Living and Eliminate CO2 from Taiwan!” (Taiwan)


Category: Best Use of UGC (User-Generated Content)

Winner: Alphabet Media Pte. Ltd. “GovNet” (Singapore)

Excellence Awardees: CommonWealth Magazine Group, “Do Active Green Living and Eliminate CO2 from Taiwan!” (Taiwan) and Singapore Press Holdings Limited “Singapore Blog Awards 2010” (Singapore)


Category: Best Use of Screen Tablet Platform

Winner: ABS-CBN Publishing, Inc. “Metro Magazine iPad Edition” (Philippines)

Excellence Award: Trends Media Group “Special Issue of Trends Cosmopolitan for iPad” (China) and MediaCorp Pte. Ltd. “Style: magazine iPad application” (Singapore)


Category: Best Use of Social Networks

Winner: U Magazine, HKET “Pursuing Social Power: U Magazine Facebook fanpage” (Hong Kong)

Excellence Award: Alphabet Media Pte. Ltd. “FutureGov Asia Pacific Magazine” (Singapore)


Category: Best Use of Design, Layout and Presentation

Winner: MediaCorp Pte. Ltd. “ELLE Spring/Summer 2011 Trends booklet, March 2011” (Singapore)

Excellence Award: Technology Review India “(1)PHOTO ESSAY (2)DEMO” (India)



Category: Best use of multimedia marketing by a book publisher

Winner: Commonwealth Publishing Company “You Can Make a Difference, Too” (Taiwan)

Excellence Awards: One Media Group Limited “Sammi Cheng – eBOOK” (Hong Kong) and HarperCollins Publishers India “The “Who is Johnny?” Campaign” (India)


Category: Best book / Best writer on Asian Socio-Economic or Media scene

Winner: Paiboon Publishing “The Interpreter’s Journal” (Thailand)

Excellence Awards: Katha “Chouboli and Other Stories” (India) and Maverick House Publishers “A Secret History of the Bangkok Hilton by Chavoret Jaruboon & Pornchai Sereemongkonpol” (Thailand)



Category: Innovative Corporate Communications in a Multi-media World

Winner: Hong Bao Media (Holdings) Pte. Ltd. “Cable & Wireless Worldwide Low Latency Networks” (Singapore)

Excellence Awards: Manila Water Company, Inc. “The Path of Pat Tubig: Water and Wastewater Trail Program” (Philippines) and Sirimedia Co., Ltd. “Andaman 365° Application on iPad in App Store” (Thailand)


Category: The first Asian Fashion Photography Awards (Presented by SmarttPapers Aviation)

Winner: Chuan Looi of Malaysia.

Excellence Awards: (1) Chiang-Liang Hsiao of Taiwan

(2) Bona Soertito of Indonesia.

SmarttPapers Aviation CEO, Mr. Winston Wei, greets visitors at his booth. SmarttPapers Aviation also sponsored the first Asian Photography Awards.
Executives of Swiss Post International meet delegates at their expo booth.
Asian Publishing Awards finalists displayed posters of their winning projects. The awards were presented by Atex.
Mr. Cyril Pereira, co-chair of APC, leads the annual meeting of the PAPAN (Pan Asia Publishers Association Network).
APC 2011 organizers and TMAT executives (Thailand host).
Principal sponsors of APC 2011 : (from left) Mr. Erkan Dogan, Global Sales Management, Swiss Post International Singapore; Mr. Steve Garton, Managing Director, Media-Greater China Global Head of Media, Synovate Limited; Ms. Rochana Kosiyanon, Executive Director of TMAT & Thailand Host; Mr. Cyril Pereira, co-chair of APC 2011; Mr. Remco Koster, Managing Director WoodWing, APAC; Mr. Rorey Rogers CEO Asia, Atex. Not in photo is Mr. Winston Wei, CEO, SmarttPapers Aviation.
Find this content useful? Share it with your friends!