Left to right: Shaun Seow (Deputy CEO of MediaCorp - News, Radio, Interactive & Print) presenting the Green Luminary Award to Ng Meng Poh (Executive Vice-President and Head, Singapore and ASEAN (Utilities).

Singapore’s MediaCorp has developed, after 12 years of broadcasting, Channel NewsAsia as an excellent regional channel.

It has celebrated its success by announcing an Asia-wide business award called the Luminary Awards. This recognises the business minds and leaders who inspire and motivate entrepreneurs. Channel NewsAsia is using this event to herald its renewed focus on business content.

Four awards were presented on 25th February at Raffles Hotel and broadcast on the 2nd March.

(1) Green Luminary Award – Sembcorp Industries Limited

(2) Innovation Luminary Award – HTC Corporation

(3) Future Business Luminary Award – Xiaofeng Peng (Chairman & CEO, LDK Solar)

(4) Lifetime Achievement Luminary Award – Dr Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw (Chairman & Managing Director, Biocon Limited)

The Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Dr KiranMazumdar-Shaw, Chairman and Managing Director of Biocom Limited. Dr Shaw started her business in a garage of a rented house in the 1970s with just US$200. In 2004 Biocom was floated in the Indian Stock Exchange making Dr Shaw the richest woman in India.

Left to right: Lifetime Achievement Luminary Award recipient Dr Dr Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw (Chairman and Managing Director of Biocon Limited) sharing her insights on conducting business at a forum moderated by Lin Xueling (Channel NewsAsia Presenter/Producer).
Left to right: Kamrul Ahsan (High Commissioner of Bangladesh); Fauzia Mazhar Sana (High Commissioner of Pakistan); Ong Lay Hong (Managing Director of MediaCorp TV 12); Jayathri Ranjani Samarakone (High Commissioner of Sri Lanka); and Woo Keng Choong (Deputy Chief Editor of MediaCorp News’ Chinese Current Affairs).
Left to right: Lucas Chow (CEO of MediaCorp) presenting the Innovation Luminary Award to Darren Sng (Director of Product Marketing for Asia at HTC Corporation).
Left to right: Teo Ming Kian (Chairman of MediaCorp) presenting the Future Business Luminary Award to Xiaofeng Peng (Chairman & CEO, LDK Solar).
Left to right: Simon Tay (Chairman of Singapore Institute of International Affairs (SIAS)); Michael Tay (Ambassador/Adjunct Professor in the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy); Suzanne Jung (Channel NewsAsia Presenter).
Left to right: Natasha Kwan (Microsoft's General Manager Asia-Pacific & Greater China ); Elim Chew (Founder & President of 77th Street ); Cheryl Fox (Channel NewsAsia Presenter); and Lim Sau Hoong (CEO/Executive Creative Director of 10AM Communications).
Find this content useful? Share it with your friends!