The gala dinner and ceremony at the Marina Bay Sands last Friday, 29th November, firmly established this event organised by the Institute of Advertising Singapore firmly in the ad industries calendar. The support from major advertisers which had been a bit thin in recent years was back with a bang. The guests included many of the top creative directors and influential agency CEOs as well as marketing chiefs from the major brands.

DDB was named as ‘The Agency of the Year’ for the third consecutive year.

DDB Singapore once again won ‘The Agency of the Year’ award. They also helped their client, McDonald’s Restaurants, win ‘The Advertiser of the Year’ award. Farrokh Madon, Chief Creative Officer of Y&R was given the accolade of ‘Creative Director of the Year’, a recognition well-deserved. The full list of award winners is given below.

Tham Khai Meng

In the past, one might question the choice for ‘Lifetime Achievement’ award at this event, but there is no doubt Tham Khai Meng deserved the recognition. Readers from this tiny island should be proud that a Singaporean now holds the post of Worldwide Chief Creative Officer of Ogilvy & Mather Worldwide and his agency continues to be a leader in the creative field. However, we are sure that Khai Meng would have been embarrassed had he been at the Hall of Fame that night and seen the short video which strongly inferred that he carried the mantle of that giant of the industry, David Ogilvy.

Coming down to earth, it was a pleasure to see a small local agency, Goodfellas, led by a veteran of the industry Patrick Low, win ‘Print Campaign of the Year’ for client STClassifieds.

Patrick Low and the Goodfellas team won the ‘Print Campaign of the Year’ for client ST Classifieds.

Hyper Island, the famous Scandinavian school, appeared for the first time at the Hall of Fame as sponsors of ‘Upstart of the Year’, which was won in this inaugural sector by Madina Kalyayeva, an account manager with Grey Group. She wins a week-long training programme with Hyper Island.

With the Singapore Effies, the Appies and the Hall of Fame, IAS is keeping a high profile locally and regionally. The organisation still needs to return to its foundations in industry education and hopefully, with the good support shown at this most recent event, 2014 will show progress in this sphere.

MacDonald's was named as ‘The Advertiser of the Year’. Here they are with the DDB team.
BBH received the ‘Campaign of the Year’ award for NTUC Insurance campaign. Geoff Tan of SPH presented the award.
‘Digital Campaign of the Year’ was awarded to ZenithOptimedia. Craig Law Smith of SingTel presented the award.
Basil Chua of StarHub presents the ‘Media Campaign of the Year’ award to MediaCom.
Jeslyn Tan, GM of SMRT Media presents Farrokh Madon of Y&R with the ‘Creative Director of the Year’ award.
Eugene Cheong receiving ‘Lifetime Achievement’ trophy on behalf of Tham Khai Meng from Goh Shu Fen, President of IAS.
Wong Mei Wai, Chairperson, Hall of Fame presents the ‘Client Marketer of the Year’ award to Rene De Monchy from APB.
IAS award the ‘Upstart of the Year’ award went to Madina Kalyayeva of Grey Group. Hyper Island sponsored the award.
Gold Award for ‘Product Innovation of the Year’ went to DDB for StarHub ‘My SmartEye App’ campaign.

Hall of Fame 2013 winners list


(1) The Agency of the Year Award

Agency: DDB Group Singapore

(2) The Advertiser of the Year Award

Client: McDonald’s Restaurant Pte Ltd Agency: DDB Group Singapore


(1) Campaign of the Year Award

Client: NTUC Income Title: Insurance Made Simple Agency: BBH Asia Pacific

(2) Digital Campaign of the Year Award

Client Heineken Title: Heineken Passport Agency: ZenithOptimedia

(3) Media Campaign of the Year Award

Client: Coca-Cola Title: Tasting is Believing (Coca-Cola Zero) Ageny: Mediacom

(4) Print Campaign of the Year Award

Client: STClassifieds Agency: Goodfellas

(5) Social Media Campaign Of the Year Award

Client: Chupa Chup Title: Making Suckers of the Internet Agency: BBH Asia Pacific

(6) Television Campaign of the Year Award

Client: NTUC Income Title: Insurance Made Simple Agency: BBH Asia Pacific


(1) Lifetime Achievement of the Year

Tham Khai Meng, Worldwide Chief Creative Officer, Ogilvy & Mather Worldwide

(2) Client Marketer of the Year

Rene De Monchy, Asst General Manager, Marketing, Asia Pacific Breweries

(3) Creative Director of the Year

Farrokh Madon, Chief Creative Officer, Y&R

(4) Strategic Thinker of the Year

Rebecca Collins, Regional Director, Mediacom

(5) Digital Practitioner of the Year

Puan Chi Heng, Associate Digital Director, ZenithOptimedia

(6) Business Manager of the Year

Brenda Foong, Business Director, Mediacom

(7) Idea Team of the Year

BBDO Singapore

(8) Upstart of the Year

Madina Kalyayeva, Account Manager, Grey Group

(9) Media Professional of the Year

Mindy Ang, Associate Director, ZenithOptimedia


(1) Marketing Innovation of the Year Award

Gold Award

Client: StarHub Limited Title: Donate-A-Tone Agency: DDB Group Singapore

Silver Award

Client: HSBC Title: HSBC Neurogolf  Agency: JWT

(2) Product Innovation of the Year Award

Gold Award

Client: StarHub Title: My SmartEye app Agency: DDB Group Singapore

Silver Award

Client: Eureka Call Centre Systems Title: Lend an Eye Agency: Grey Group

Find this content useful? Share it with your friends!