Each year the President of Singapore, currently Tony Tan, presents awards to designers and to what are considered the best designs. There were 131 nominations for the ‘Designer of the Year’ and ‘Design of the Year’ categories. The awards are administered by DesignSingapore Council of the Ministry of Communications and Information and the Urban Redevelopment Authority.

The six designers selected this year are:

(A)  Patrick Chia, Director, Squeeze Design; Director, Design Incubation Centre; and Creative Director, d.lab

(B)  Richard K F Ho, Principal, RichardHO Architects

(C)  Alfie Leong, Designer/Director, The Little Voice Pte Ltd

(D)  Pann Lim, Creative Officer, Kinetic Design and Advertising Pte Ltd

(E)  Harijanto Setiawan, Director, Boenga Pte Ltd

(F)  Yip Yuen Hong, Principal, ip:li Architects

The nine ‘Design of the Year’ recipients were:

(1)  Being Together: Family & Portraits – Photographing with John Clang 

Kingsmen Exhibits Pte Ltd (Brett Cameron / Thomas Morris)

In collaboration with Clang Photography (John Clang)

The National Museum of Singapore (Szan Tan)

(2)  Dell Inspiron 23: All-In-One PC

Dell Global B.V. (Singapore Branch), Experience Design Group (Chan Wai Lim / Yong Khang Chian / James Hallar)

(3)  Gardens by the Bay (Bay South Garden)

Gardens by the Bay (Dr Kiat W. Tan / Peggy Chong / Kenneth Er [and Team])

(4)  Initial ‘Signature’ Range

Orcadesign Consultants (Jeremy Sun Ting Kung / Michael Toh Chong Nam / Ryan Toh Kian Seng / Da Ze Lee / Kwek Chin Leong)

In collaboration with Greaves Best Design (Michael Best)

(5)  Lucky Shophouse

CHANG Architects (Chang Yong Ter)

(6)  PARKROYAL on Pickering

WOHA Architects Pte Ltd

(7)  Satay by the Bay

Linghao Architects (Ling Hao)

Design Collaborators KUU (Tan Kok Meng / Satoko Saeki)

(8)  Singapore Icons

S U P E R M A M A (Edwin Low Chee Siong)

In collaboration with ampulets (James Teo Chye Koon)

Relay Room (De Winne Mark Yehan)

Quiet Studio (Fion Lum Pui Mun)

Desinere (Melvin Ong Yit Leong / Chang Shian Wei)

(9)  Snapware Eco Flip

World Kitchen (Asia Pacific) Pte Ltd (Lee Eng Leong / Lin Shini / Park Eunsung)

Find this content useful? Share it with your friends!