To coincide with the launch of a new book on the history of graphic design in Singapore, The Design Society held a day-long conference at LaSalle College of the Arts. Over 500 delegates filled the SIA Theatre.

Round-table panel (from left): Emcee/Moderator Graham Perkins, Allein Moore, Edmund Wee, Ronnie Tan, Theresa Yong and Justin Zhuang.

The 7th April morning kicked off with a round table of design pioneers. Ronnie Tan, founder of Design Objectives; Theresa Yong of Immortal the Design Station; Edmund Wee of Epigram and Allein Moore, the founder of the Designers Association Singapore. Also joining them on stage was Justin Zhuang, the young author of ‘Independence, The History of Graphic Design in Singapore’ which chronicles the development of design on this island. The book was published by The Design Society with a grant from the National Heritage Board.

In the second half, four founders of respected graphic design studios presented their own stories, and challenges as well as showing examples of work created over the years to the mainly young audience. The speakers selected were Yah-Leng Yu, Creative Director Foreign Policy Design Group; Pann Lim, Creative Director of Kinetic Design; Larry Peh, Creative Director of &Larry; and Chris Lee, Creative Director of Asylum.

The size of the audience was impressive and demonstrated the interest that there is in design in Singapore.

1st speaker Yah-Leng Yu, Creative Director, Foreign Policy Design Group
2nd speaker Pann Lim, Creative Director, Kinetic Design
3rd speaker Larry Peh, Creative Director of &Larry
4th speaker Chris Lee, Creative Director of Asylum
Panel Q&A Session (left to right): Graham Perkins, Chris Lee, Pann Lim, Larry Peh and Yah-Leng Yu.
Some of The Design Society Exco members (from left): Jackson Tan, Chris Lee, Larry Peh, Pann Lim, Felix Ng and Hanson Ho with Justin Zhuang, author ofthe Independence Book.
A glimpse of the conference attendees.
Find this content useful? Share it with your friends!